Banana Muffins (Gluten free)

20150628_195328.jpg

Hello,

How do you feel about banana bread?

I feel like a lot of people take it very seriously over in the US because it’s the kind of cake that is really linked to childhood memories. The first time I had banana bread was when I first came to study in Montreal, I was trying out a few school clubs and the book club had a meet and greet and someone had made banana bread.

It was love at first bite! During the year I sampled quite a lot of different ones and when I went back home it was the first thing I baked to share with my family.

So here is a recipe for banana bread, in muffin form, and gluten free because of my mother who can’t have gluten. I had planned to save most of them to freeze so she would have something sweet and homemade to eat in the afternoons but they didn’t last long enough.

I guess banana bread love runs in the genes!

20150628_190912.jpg

Recipe :

Adapted from this recipe

  • 100gr almond flour
  • 60gr tapioca starch
  • 50gr buckwheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 120mL agave syrup
  • 2 large eggs
  • 80gr butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 mashed ripe bananas

 

Preheat the oven to 190°C (375F).

In a large bowl, whisk together the tapioca starch, the almond and buckwheat flours, the baking powder and the salt.

In another bowl combine the agave syrup, eggs, butter and vanilla extract. Add the mashed bananas and stir well.

Add the dry ingredients to the banana mixture, mixing only until there is no more streaks of flour.

I like to rest muffin batter in the fridge overnight to let the flavours mix together and develop but if you don’t want to wait that long just pour the batter in a muffin pan lined with wrappers to about 3/4 of the height.

Bake for 30-35 minutes or when a toothpick inserted in the center of the muffins comes out clean. Cool on a baking wrack and enjoy at room temperature.

Leave a Reply

